A downloadable experience for Windows and macOS

welcome to _space_train!

a psychedelic cacophony of text and buttons. assume any one of several heady roles aboard a great, rolling behemoth of the new space age.

a deep simulation of a utopian future, where humanity has taken to the stars, by rail.

the once-in-a-lifetime experience, of a game developed with little concern for being played.

three whole years of my life, frittered away.

also it's multiplayer???

follow continued development on the twitter - see entire features conceived and implemented in only several months of effort

--------------------------

_space_train is a project built with the assistance of a number of open and/or free assets:

"Gameboy Platformer Art" by LittleSadNerd (https://opengameart.org/content/gameboy-platformer-art)
"Modular Spaceships" by circuitry (https://opengameart.org/content/modular-spaceships)
"2D Hover Racing Vehicles" by James Legg (https://opengameart.org/content/2-hover-racing-vehicles)
"Train" by chabull (https://opengameart.org/content/train)
"Door Open, Door Close Set" by qubodup (https://opengameart.org/content/door-open-door-close-set)
"Zombie TDS Tileset: buildings and furniture" by craftpix.net (https://free-game-assets.itch.io/free-tds-tilesets-buildings-and-furniture)
"Reactor" by nazzyc (https://opengameart.org/content/reactor)
"SVG Inventory Items" by Johann C (https://opengameart.org/content/svg-inventory-icons)
"RPG Tileset" by russpuppy (https://opengameart.org/content/rpg-tileset)
"Sci-fi Platform Tiles" by Eris (https://opengameart.org/content/sci-fi-platform-tiles-sectioned)
"Various Inventory 24 Pixel Icon Set" by OceansDream (https://opengameart.org/content/various-inventory-24-pixel-icon-set)
"LCD" by andi (https://opengameart.org/content/lcd)
"16x16 RPG Item Pack" by Alex's Assets (https://alexs-assets.itch.io/16x16-rpg-item-pack)
"Classical Temple Tiles" by surt (https://opengameart.org/content/classical-temple-tiles)
"Dungeon Tileset" by Buch (https://opengameart.org/content/dungeon-tileset)
"Free Pixel Food" by Henry Software (https://henrysoftware.itch.io/pixel-food)
"Pixel People Extras 2" by TokyoGeisha (https://opengameart.org/content/pixel-people-extras-2)
"BacktoPixel 1.0" by icojoy.com (http://www.icojam.com/)
"16x16 Industrial Tileset" by 0x72 (https://0x72.itch.io/16x16-industrial-tileset)
"[LPC] Items and game effects" by Reemax et al. (https://opengameart.org/content/lpc-items-and-game-effects)
"B&W Ornamental Cursor (19x19)" by qubodup (https://opengameart.org/content/bw-ornamental-cursor-19x19)
"Kitchen Assets for #LetsCookJam" by Bluerobin2 (https://opengameart.org/content/kitchen-assets-for-letscookjam)
"Colony Sim Assets" by Buch (https://opengameart.org/content/colony-sim-assets)

_space_train is developed with a number of open source and/or free software packages:

dear imgui (https://github.com/ocornut/imgui)
libzip (https://libzip.org/)
libpng (http://www.libpng.org/pub/png/libpng.html)
boost (https://www.boost.org/)
SDL and SDL_mixer (https://www.libsdl.org/)
libazure by Jon Hatchett
GLEW (http://glew.sourceforge.net/)
OpenGL Mathematics (https://glm.g-truc.net/0.9.9/index.html)
Assimp (http://www.assimp.org/)
Tiled (https://www.mapeditor.org/)
TMX C Loader (TMX C Loader)
ASIO (https://think-async.com/)
LUA (https://www.lua.org/)

Please email josh04@gmail.com if any entries are absent from or incorrect on this list.


Updated 23 days ago
StatusIn development
PlatformsWindows, macOS
AuthorJosh04
TagsMultiplayer, Space, train
Average sessionA few minutes
LanguagesEnglish
InputsKeyboard, Mouse
MultiplayerServer-based networked multiplayer

Install instructions

Unzip, read credits.txt to see all the fine work I've taken advantage of, then click spacetrain.exe/spacetrain.app to run.

Download

Download
Spacetrain 320 (Mac) 60 MB
Download
Spacetrain 320 (Windows) 45 MB

Development log

Leave a comment

Log in with itch.io to leave a comment.